Holy Cow, I Live in Honduras!

Hola mi familia!

HOLY COW, I live in Honduras.  It is very cool here.  It is different, but there is definitely a flow here that isn’t in America.  I can’t really explain it.  I’m sorry but I don’t have much time to email today.  There is only one computer that is working right now.  I’m going to try and answer your questions.  I am in the city.  There are 5 areas in the city and 5 outside the city.  I am in an area inside Esparanza called Trinity.  It’s crazy.  I live in the chapel, which is just an old building.  I will send pictures soon.  Everything is different here, very third world.  We have things called pilas, which is basically a big cement basin about 8 feet by 5 feet that holds tons of water.  That is where you do all your dishes and stuff.  I am in one of the worst apartments. I have a mattress, a shelf, place to put my clothes and that’s about it. I live with hardly anything.  I don’t even have utensils.  Por favor, for Christmas, will you send me a silverware deal, like we have in our 72 hour kits?  I just basically eat at others houses.  It is different to live with nothing.  I don’t even have a pillow.  I use my sweatshirt to lay on every night.  Not very comfortable but I am so tired, that it works.  I shower with a bucket.  Every house has huge walls and barbed wire or broken glass on the top to keep people out of your property.

My companion is Elder Morales from Nicaragua and he speaks no english. It is very lonely at times because I don’t have a lot of vocabulary for conversation.  He is awesome and is very kind to me, even though I am a gringo.

The first morning I woke up to someone shooting a gun right outside our house.  There are people who sit on the sides of the streets who are always drunk everyday.  They try and take stuff from me, like my watch, money, that kind of thing, but we just try to avoid them.  There are so many things that are different here.  This is definitely a third world country. Most of the houses in my area are shacks; made out of metal, cement or old wood, with tin roof tops.  There is definitely not a lot of money here.

I get about 4000 limpiras a month, which is about 150 dollars.  It is definitely enough.  We have a cook lady who cooks lunch for us and the members feed us a lot.  So far the food is not too bad, not bad at all.  Mostly eggs, beans, and always tortillas.  I did however have some sort of organ from some sort of an animal.  I still don’t know exactly what and I don’t want to find out.  lol

The mission president, President Hernandez, is really nice and very kind.  The mission house is super nice – wow.  We stayed with the president for the first couple of days at the mission office.  There are nice areas of the city and there are cruddy areas.  The area by the president is really nice.  They have a big mall with nice stores like Zara and other international stores, and stuff you would find in our mall.

There is definitely a prejudice here.  There are some areas in the city where I cannot go, because I would be shot or worse.  There was an elder in the area next to mine, and he was being robbed by a couple of guys with a machete.  The guy tried to slice him but the machete bounced right off.  The only thing he had was a red line across his chest.   Cool example of how masiso (cool) garments are.

There are busses everywhere – they are always around.  They are usually old yellow school busses.  The people here love their music, especially their spanish rap.  It is absolutely vile, I don’t know what they are saying, but it feels terrible.  It has a moombahton beat to it – always there is the constant moombahton beat.  It is funny to hear all the busses blasting their music.  I didn’t hear any traditional music until yesterday and it was just some mariachi music.  Well I don’t have much more time and I wish I could say more.  I am still trying to get into the groove of things.  Well goodbye I need to go.

Amor

ELDER JONES  O_O

This entry was posted in Trinity.

Leave a Reply

